Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

The Republic of South Sudan | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page


• 1955–1972: First Sudanese Civil War takes place between the new Sudanese government and Southern secessionists over the rights of the South to autonomy. • 1983: Second Sudanese Civil war begins after the South Sudan autonomous state is ended. • 1985: A military coup suspends the constitution but leaves Shari’a law in place. • 1986: The government begins peace talks with the Sudanese People’s Liberation Army (SPLA), a Southern force fighting for a secular state. • June 1989: A military coup overthrows the civilian government. July 1992: A government offensive seizes Southern Sudan. • 1993: Muslim judges were moved into the southern states, reinforcing the rule of the Northern, Islamic part of Sudan in the majority Christian South. • 1999: The Egypt–Libya Initiative begins, aimed at ending the Second Sudanese Civil War. • January 2005: The Comprehensive Peace Agreement is signed, ending the war. • January 2011: The results of a referendum are released with 98.83 percent voting for independence. • July 9, 2011: South Sudan becomes officially independent. • December 2011: Tribal conflicts in Jonglei intensify. • March 2012: South Sudan seizes the Heglig oil fields. • March 2013: Sudan and South Sudan both withdraw forces from the Abyei region, although the dispute over oil production continues. • October 2013: The referendum of the status of the Abyei region is scheduled, asking voters whether they want to remain in Sudan or join South Sudan.

South Sudan

south sudan
Official Name: Republic of South Sudan
Capital: Juba
President: Salva Kiir
Vice President: James Wani Igga