Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria - ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive
Select Page
[map id=”countryBriefMapIn” w=”676″ h=”350″ z=”6″ maptype=”TERRAIN” address=”Algiers, Algeria” marker=”yes”]


• 1954: Beginning of Algerian war. • 1962: Algeria gains independence from France with Ferhat Abbas as president. • 1963: Ahmed Ben Bella becomes president. • 1963: Algeria fights Morocco in the Sand War. • 1965: Ben Bella is overthrown by Houari Boumedienne. • 1992: President Chadli Bendjedid resigns and Algeria is governed by a High Council of State to avoid an Islamist victory in elections. • 1999: Abdelaziz Bouteflika is elected president. He announces a civil concord and releases political prisoners. • 2008: The limit on a president serving a maximum of two terms is lifted. • 2009: Bouteflika is re-elected. • 2011: Following protests, the 19-year-old state of emergency is lifted and political and constitutional reform is promised.



Official Name: People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
President: Abdulaziz Bouteflika
Prime Minister: Abdelmalek Sellal
Deputy Prime Minister: Fahd Bin Mahmoud Al Said
Asharq Al-Awsat

Asharq Al-Awsat

Asharq Al-Awsat is the world’s premier pan-Arab daily newspaper, printed simultaneously each day on four continents in 14 cities. Launched in London in 1978, Asharq Al-Awsat has established itself as the decisive publication on pan-Arab and international affairs, offering its readers in-depth analysis and exclusive editorials, as well as the most comprehensive coverage of the entire Arab world.

More Posts

Follow Me:
FacebookGoogle PlusYouTube