Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

State of Qatar - ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive
Select Page
[map id=”countryBriefMapIn” w=”676″ h=”350″ z=”8″ maptype=”TERRAIN” address=”Doha, Qatar” marker=”yes”]


• 1968: Britain declares that it will disengage politically from the Gulf in 1971. • 1971: Qatar gains independence from the United Kingdom. • 1972: Khalifa Bin Hamad Al Thani becomes emir. • 1974: The Qatar General Petroleum Corporation takes control of all oil operations in Qatar. • 1991: Qatar fights against Iraq in the Gulf War. • 1995: Hamad Bin Khalifa Al Thani takes over as Emir from his father. • 1996: Al-Jazeera is launched. • 1999: The emir endorses women’s suffrage in municipal elections. • 2005: Qatar’s first written constitution is drafted. • 2010: Qatar is selected to host the 2022 FIFA world cup. • 2013: Tamim Bin Hamad Al Thani is handed power by his father.



Official Name: State of Qatar
Capital: Doha
Emir: Tamim Bin Hamad Bin Khalifa Al Thani
Prime Minister: Abdullah Bin Nasser Bin Khalifa Al Thani
Asharq Al-Awsat

Asharq Al-Awsat

Asharq Al-Awsat is the world’s premier pan-Arab daily newspaper, printed simultaneously each day on four continents in 14 cities. Launched in London in 1978, Asharq Al-Awsat has established itself as the decisive publication on pan-Arab and international affairs, offering its readers in-depth analysis and exclusive editorials, as well as the most comprehensive coverage of the entire Arab world.

More Posts

Follow Me:
FacebookGoogle PlusYouTube