Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

Sudan: Five Darfur Factions Form Alliance | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page

Khartoum, Asharq Al-Awsat – Five factions that support the Abuja peace agreement with the Government have signed a pact of alliance among them. They are: The Sudan Liberation Movement [SLM] – Peace Wing headed by Ibrahim Madibu; SLM – Free Will headed by Abdul Rahman Musa; SLM mother movement headed by Abdul Qasim Imam; Justice and Equality Movement – Peace Wing headed by Abdul Rahim Abu Rishah, and the Popular Force for Democratic Rights headed by Hisham Nurin.

Ali Hamid, the spokesman for the movements which have signed the Darfur Peace Agreement said that the alliance “represents the road to unity of the movements to prevent fragmentation and disbursement that have afflicted Darfur. We as movements have signed peace and we are part of the peace mechanism. This is why we have seen that unity is an attractive option and that unity ensures security, stability, and development, for there is no development without security and stability”.

Hisham Nurin, the head of the Popular Force for Democratic Rights said that this arrangement leads to unifying the movements to protect the unity of the country and establish peace in Darfur. He assured the Sudanese people of the seriousness of the movements and their desire to attain peace in Darfur.