Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

Portugal Crowned Euro Champions for First Time - ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive
Select Page

Paris-Substitute Eder’s thunderous finish deep into extra time secured Portugal’s first European Championship title after they overcame the early loss of Cristiano Ronaldo to snatch a 1-0 smash-and-grab victory over hosts France on Sunday.

The game’s 90 minutes ended in a 0-0 draw before the two teams refuged to additional time to determine the winner.

Portugal goalkeeper Rui Patrício takes big portion of the credit as his heroism saved impeded France from scoring and taking the lead. Eder managed to net the winner at the 109th minute.

In this victory, Portugal deprived France from winning the Euro title for the third time and they became the tenth team to be crowned throughout history.

Ronaldo’s 2016 Euro campaign had come to a frustrating end after 24 minutes of the final game as he was carried crying from the pitch on a stretcher with a knee injury.

Portugal had failed to win the 2004 Euro held in Portugal after their 1-0 defeat to Greece.

However, this season, Ronaldo’s teammates did not let him down and clinched the historic title.

Pepe tweeted expressing his sorrow to see Ronaldo leaving in this manner and hoping that his injury is not serious.