Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

‘The Seven Mosques’ Lure Visitors of Medina | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page
Media ID: 55376896

A view of the minarets of the Mosque of Prophet Mohammad in the
holy city of Medina January 3, 2007. REUTERS/Ali Jarekji

Medina- Medina features many historic mosques that receive a special care from the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman bin Abdulaziz including constant maintenance, provision of all needs like mattresses, lightning devices, cooling systems, and other equipment needed for people who pray, and visit to learn about its important Islamic history.

Those mosques include “The Seven Mosques” considered among the visitors’ and pilgrims’ top destinations. It is composed of six small mosques, but dubbed “seven mosques” because according to historians, “Masjed al-Keblatayn” also makes part of them.

“The Seven Mosques” are found in the western area of Sela Mountain in “Khandak” site drilled by Muslims during the prophet (SAW) to defend Medina against the invasion of Quraysh and his allies in year five hegira, through Al-Ahzab invasion.

Those sites served as surveillance towers during the invasion. Each mosque was named after one of the prophet’s companions, except for Al-Fath Mosque. From the north to the south, those mosques are named as follows: Al-Fateh Mosque, Mosque of Salman Al-Farisi, Mosque of Abu Bakr al- Siddiq, Mosque of Omar Ibn al-Khattab, Mosque of Ali bin Abi Taleb, and Mosque of Fatima.

The biggest among those mosques is known as “Al-Fath Mosque” or the highest mosque because during the invasion, the Prophet (SAW) used to pray in it, and because that invasion brought great victory for Muslims.

Twenty meters south of al- Fath is the Salman Al-Farisi mosque, named for the Prophet Mohammed’s companion, Salman, who suggested that Medina residents dig the trench to defend the city against Quraish invaders. This mosque was built during Omar bin Abdulaziz rule over the city, and was renewed at the order of Saifddine Abu’l-Hayja in 575 hegira and rebuilt in the era of Ottoman Sultan Abdul Majid I.

The Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq mosque is 15 meters southwest of the Salman Al-Farisi mosque. It was built and renewed with the two previous mosques, and currently, it has been demolished in order to rebuild it and expand its surface. Just a few meters south lay the Omar bin Al-Khattab mosque. It seems like a rectangular hall. The mosque features the same architectural characteristics as the Al-Fath mosque, indicating they were constructed during the same period.

The fifth is Ali bin Abu Talib mosque, which measures 8.5 meters long and 6.5 meters wide. A short distance to the west is the Fatimah Al-Zahra Mosque. According to history, Ali bin Abu Talib was killed in this site. Finally comes Fatimah Al-Zahra Mosque, and was also known as Saad bin Moath Mosque. It is the smallest among the seven, and according to reports, its last construction took place during the Ottoman Era and the rule of Sultan Abdul Majid I in 1851.