Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

Republic of Tunisia | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page
Media ID: 55289945
[map id=”countryBriefMapIn” w=”676″ h=”350″ z=”8″ maptype=”TERRAIN” address=”Tunis, Tunisia” marker=”yes”]


• 1956: Gains independence from France. • July 12, 1957: Tunisia is declared a Republic with Habib Bourguiba as president. • 1978: Dozens are killed by government forces repressing a general strike. • 1983: Tunisia sees widespread rioting due to an increase in bread prices. • November 7, 1987: Zine El-Abidine Ben Ali becomes president in a bloodless coup. • December 17, 2010: The self-immolation of Mohamed Bouazizi leads to rioting; his death is widely seen as the starting point of the Arab Spring across the region. • January 14, 2011: Ben Ali flees Tunisia after more than three weeks of anti-government protests. • January 15, 2011: Mohamed Ghannouchi resigns as acting president after just one day. • January 2011: Fouad Mebazaa becomes acting president. • October 2011: The Islamist Ennahda Party wins the first election after the revolution. • December 2011: Moncef Marzouki elected president. • March 2012: Ennahda refuses to make Shari’a law the basis of the Tunisian constitution. • February 6, 2013: Opposition leader Chokri Belaid is assassinated, leading to riots, the withdrawal of four parties from the national assemblies and calls for a general strike. • February 19, 2013: After his attempt to form a technocratic government fails, Hamadi Jebali resigns as prime minister. • February 2013: Ali Laarayedh is appointed prime minister. • July 2013: Opposition leader Mohamed Brahmi is assassinated, the second such assassination in six months. • January 2014: Ali Laarayedh resigns as prime minister and is replaced by caretaker prime minister Mehdi Jomaa following months of talks aimed at ending the political deadlock caused by Brahmi’s assassination.



Official Name: Republic of Tunisia
Capital: Tunis
President: Moncef Marzouki
Prime Minister: Mehdi Jomaa