Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

KSA, Bahrain, UAE, Egypt: No Restrictions on Foreign Airlines Except ‘Qatar Airways’ | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page
Media ID: 55376789

A Qatar Airways aircraft is seen at a runway of the Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport in Athens, Greece, May 16, 2016. REUTERS/Alkis Konstantinidis

Riyadh- Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, UAE, and Egypt asserted to the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) that their governments have not imposed any restrictions on foreign aviation companies except Qatari companies and those companies registered in Qatar from using their airspace.

Minister of Transport Sulaiman al-Hamdan, Assistant President of Saudi General Authority of Civil Aviation Capt. Abdul-Hakami al-Badr, Minister of Transport of Bahrain Mohammed Kamal, President of Civil Aviation Authority of United Arab Emirates (UAE) Saif al-Suwaidi and President of Civil Aviation Authority of Egypt Hani al-Adawi visited the headquarters of ICAO in Montreal, Canada on Thursday.

The delegation met with ICA Council President Dr. Benard Aliu, Secretary General Dr. Fang Liu, a number of ICAO department directors, and permanent representatives of ICAO member states at ICAO — it explained to the officials all the measures taken to implement the decisions of their governments.

The delegation affirmed that the measures they have taken are within their sovereign and legal rights in line with the international laws and the United Nations Security Council Resolutions No 2309 and 1373 on countering all forms of terrorism and that they comply with the Convention on International Civil Aviation “Chicago Convention 1994,” including all its complementary arrangements.

Replying to queries from ICAO officials, the delegation strongly refuted Qatari arguments and attempts to mislead the organization with incorrect information about the current situation.

It welcomed cooperation and coordination with ICAO to serve its objectives and enhance the security and safety of the international air traffic, stressing at the same time that it would exercise its sovereign right under international laws to protect the airspace of the four states from any risks.