Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

New Moroccan Government of 39 Members, Including 9 Women | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page
Media ID: 55370951

Saad Eddine El Othmani of the Justice and Development Party (PJD) gives his first speech during a meeting of PJD at the Moulay Rachid Complex in Rabat, March 18, 2017. REUTERS/Stringer

Rabat- Morocco’s King Mohammad VI named a new government on Wednesday ending a six-month political deadlock that followed October’s elections.

Prime Minister Saad Eddine al-Othmani, second-in-command of the Justice and Development Party [PJD] that triumphed in the elections, will lead a cabinet formed of members from six political parties: The PJD, the National Rally of Independents (RNI), the Popular Movement (MP), and the Party of Progress and Socialism (PPS), who were present in the previous government, in addition to the Constitutional Union (UC) and the Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP).

According to MAP state news agency, several key ministerial posts remained unchanged and under the control of the RNI.

The cabinet comprises 39 ministers, nine of whom are women.

RNI Leader Aziz Akhannouch kept his position as Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, while RNI members Mohammed Boussaid and Moulay Hafid Elalamy remained as heads of the Ministry of Finance and Economy and Ministry of Trade and Industry, respectively.

Abdelouafi Laftit, former governor of Rabat and opponent of the PJD, was named Minister of Interior. Former Interior Minister Mohammed Hassad was appointed Minister of Education.

The PJD lost its control of the key Ministry of Justice and Public Freedoms, previously led by Mustafa Ramid, who was appointed as Minister of State in charge of human rights.

The PJD has received ten ministerial positions, including state ministry for human rights, ministry of energy and mines, ministry of equipment and transport, ministry of family and social development, ministry of labor and vocational integration, and ministry to the head of government in charge of public affairs and governance, in addition to ministry to the head of government in charge of relations with parliament and civil society, as well as three secretarial posts.

The RNI received seven portfolios, which included, among others, the ministry of justice and freedoms, the ministry of economy and finance and the ministry of agriculture.