Middle-east Arab News Opinion | Asharq Al-awsat

Cannes Film Festival Award Winners | ASHARQ AL-AWSAT English Archive 2005 -2017
Select Page
Media ID: 55351254

Cannes Film Festival Winners

The Palme d’Or for Best Picture at the 69th Cannes Film Festival, on Sunday, was won by British director Ken Loach for “I, Daniel Blake”. Noting that Loach had already won the highest distinction in 2006 for “The Wind That Shakes the Barley”.

While the Iranian film “Forushande” (The Salesman) by Asghar Farhadi received two awards, for Best Screenplay and for Best Actor, won by Shahab Hosseini.

Other winners are:

Grand Prix: “Juste la Fin du Monde” (It’s Just the End of the World), directed by Xavier Dolan (Canada)

Jury Prize: “American Honey”, directed by Andrea Arnold (Britain)

Best Director: Cristian Mungiu (Romania) for “Bacalaureat” (Graduation) and Olivier Assayas (France) for “Personal Shopper”

Best Screenplay: Asghar Farhadi (Iran) for “Forushande” (The Salesman)

Best Actress: Jaclyn Jose (Philippines) in Brillante Mendoza’s “Ma’ Rosa”